Cornwall’s Lenentine wins Pepsi Junior Women’s “A” section

The Lauren Lenentine and Alex MacFadyen rinks have won the first of three modified triple-knockout sections in the Pepsi Provincial Junior Curling Championships being played at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary. Defending Junior Women’s champ Lenentine, from Cornwall, downed Charlottetown’s Annika Kelly foursome 11-1 in only six ends, helped out by a stolen triple in the third end, and a four point fifth end. It was handshake time after a steal of two in the sixth .


Team Lenentine

The MacFadyen squad, from the Silver Fox in Summerside, stole a triple in the third end in a 7-3 decision over Cornwall’s Mitchell Schut team in a game that went eight ends. 

In the modified triple-knockout, section winners drop down to compete in the next section. MacFadyen will  now take on the winner of a 2 pm match between the Schut brothers (Mitchell and Devin) in the “B” section final at 6:30 pm. Mitchell got by older brother Devin 7-5 in their previous encounter on Wednesday.

Lenentine and Kelly both drop down to “B” semi-finals at 6:30 pm. Kelly will play the winner of a 2 pm match between Cornwall’s Sydney Howatt and Crapaud, Cornwall, and Charlottetown’s Lauren Ferguson teams, while Lenentine awaits the victor of the 2 pm contest between her Cornwall clubmates Rachel MacLean and Emily Sanderson. The women’s “B”  final goes at 9:30 am Friday.

If a team wins all three sections, they will win the event without a championship round. If a team wins two sections, they will advance to a championship game against the winner of the other section and will take the championship if they win the game. If the other team wins, there will be a second championship game, with the winner of that game going to the nationals. If there are three separate section winners, the team that played in the most section finals will earn a bye to the second championship game where they will face the winner of a game between the other two finalists.

Live  end-by-end results are available at Six junior women’s and four junior men’s teams are competing.

The winning Junior Men’s and  Women’s champions will advance to the 2018 New Holland Canadian Junior Curling Championships, Jan. 21 – 28 in Shawinigan Quebec.