Ebbett rink from Cornwall and Ch’town looking to repeat as Seniors Ch’ships begin on Friday

The PEI Seniors Curling Championships, with men’s and women’s divisions for curlers age 50 and over, take place at the Crapaud Community Curling Club from February 9 to 12.  Winners advance to the 2018 Everest Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championship,  March 24 to 29 at the Stratford Ontario Rotary Complex, a facility that features two ice surfaces — RBC Arena and Molson Arena. 

Photo (L-R): Sandy Hope, Karen Hardy, Kim Pippy, Shelley Ebbett

Defending senior women’s champs are the Shelley Ebbett rink from the Cornwall and Charlottetown curling clubs, who beat Cornwall’s Shirley Berry foursome in last year’s final. Both teams are back this year, plus the Debbie Rhodenhizer team from Cornwall, the Heather MacRae squad from Crapaud, and the Sharon Horne rink from the Western and Maple Leaf clubs.

The Phil Gorveatt rink from Charlottetown are the defending Senior Men’s champions, defeating the Robert Campbell team in last year’s final. Gorveatt is back this year, along with Cornwall’s Bill Hope team, and the Dario Zannier rink from the host club.

The three men’s and five women’s teams will play modified triple knockout draws, with the winner of each section dropping down to compete in subsequent sections. If a team wins all three sections, they will be champion without a playoff, Otherwise the section winners advance to a two game championship round on Monday. 

Click for Live End-by-End Scoring


Men’s games have light green background
Women’s games have plum  background
Qualifier games have game number highlighted in yellow

Day Time Draw Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
Feb. 9
10 am 1 A   B  
2 pm 2   1 C D
6 pm 3 F E 2  
Feb. 10
2 pm 4 3 H   G
6 pm 5 J 4 I  
Feb. 11
10 am 6   K 5  
2 pm 7   6 L  
Feb. 12
10 am  8   WA MA  
2 pm 9   MB WB  


Modified Triple Knockout Draw Playoff Scenarios

1. One team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. One team wins two qualifiers. They play in both X and Z (and win the event if they win either game), the other winner plays in Y (and has to win both games).

3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in Z and the other winners play off in X and Y. If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to Z and the other two teams play off in X and Y.

*Qualifying games have yellow game number background on the schedule



Team Rosters

(Click on Team Name for players)

Team Coach Affiliation Location
M-Team Gorveatt N/A Charlottetown Curling Complex Charlottetown, PE
M-Team Hope N/A Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE
M-Team Zannier N/A Crapaud Curling Club Crapaud, PE
W-Team Berry N/A Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE
W-Team Ebbett N/A Charlottetown and Cornwall curling clubs Charlottetown and Cornwall, PE
W-Team Horne N/A Western and Maple Leaf curling clubs Alberton and O’Leary, PE
W-Team MacRae N/A Crapaud Curling Club Crapaud, PE
W-Team Rhodenhizer Bill MacFadyen Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE


Click for last year’s event

Click for previous provincial seniors websites and winners.

Post last modified: Feb 4, 2018 @ 10:10 am

Comments are closed.