Pizza Delight/Howard Johnson Dutch Inn Junior Cashspiel here this weekend

The 14th Annual Pizza Delight/Howard Johnson Dutch Inn Junior Cashspiel, gets underway Friday afternoon, and wraps up Sunday at the Cornwall Curling Club. Ten junior women’s teams and eight junior men’s rinks, from Newfoundland, New Brunswick, and PEI are entered in the event, PEI’s longest running junior cashspiel. There are no teams from Nova Scotia this year, as their junior regional playdowns are the same weekend.

Organizer Brenda MacMillan says the event’s longevity is partly due to good sponsors over the years, including Neil MacDonald of Pizza Delight, and Rekis Stutvoet of the Dutch Inn. She says they are planning a much larger event next year, for the 15th anniversary. That event will go a few weeks earlier, November 5-7, due to contention with the national The Dominion Curling Club championship being co-hosted at the Cornwall club.

Island entrants this year include seven of the eight PEI Canada Games Trials contenders — Amanda MacLean, Jenny McLean, Veronica Smith, Leah Deveau, Matthew MacLean, Tyler Smith, and Jeff Taylor, along with the host club’s Sarah Fullerton rink, winners of the recent Fall Fling junior cashspiel in Summerside, and the runner-up Anita Casey team from the Silver Fox. The Pitre brothers, Spencer and Shawn, are also skipping teams in the event. Last year’s PEI junior men’s runner-up team, skipped by Sam Ramsay of Summerside, will also be in attendance, along with last year’s UPEI women’s representatives at the CIS Curling Championships, the Sarah Clow rink. The Alex Matters foursome from the Charlottetown Curling Club round out the PEI contingent.

New Brunswick’s Jon Rennie, who was on the New Brunswick Junior Men’s championship team last year, is here skipping a new team. Other New Brunswick teams are skipped by Sarah Ronalds and Jessica Daigle. Representing Newfound.and Labrador will be the Amanda Rumboldt foursome from Stephenville.

Both the junior men’s and junior women’s divisions will play round robin draws with two pools, beginning Friday afternoon at 4 pm, and wrapping up Saturday evening. Semi-finals go Sunday morning at 8:30, with the consolation finals at 11 am on two ice sheets, and the event finals starting an hour later on the other two sheets.

Round robin draws and results  at

Drop into the Club this weekend to watch some of Atlantic Canada’s best junior curlers!
Junior Women’s Rosters (Skip, Third, Second,  Lead, Coach-Club)

Sarah Fullerton, Michelle McQuaid, Sara MacRae, Whitney Young, Brenda MacMillan (Coach)- Cornwall PE
Sarah Ronalds, Jillian Holmes, Misty Hicks, Samantha Nason, Dale Ronalds (coach)- Beausejour (Moncton NB)
Anita Casey, Abby Burgess, Hillary Thompson. Jessica van Ouwerkerk, Jeff Wilson (coach)- Silver Fox (Summerside PE)
Sarah Clow, Brielle Quilty. Christina Hennesey, Monica LeBlanc, Angela Hodgson (coach)- Cornwall PE
Amanda Rumboldt, Ashley Rumboldt, Chloe Deaves, Bronwyn Woolfrey, Susan Curtis (coach)- Caribou (Stephenville NL)
Amanda MacLean, Kassinda Bulger, Emily Gray, Aleya Quilty, coaches Glen MacLean/Shelley Gray-Maple Leaf (O’Leary PE)
Jenny McLean, Meaghan MacDonald, Rachael Gardiner, Lauren MacFadyen, Don Vickerson (coach)-Silver Fox (Summerside PE)
Veronica Smith, Katie Fullerton, Sabrina Smith, Chloe McCloskey,coaches Paul Smith/Sarah Fullerton-Cornwall PE
Jessica Daigle, Natalie Menzies, Krista Flanagan, Jade Carruthers, Allan Menzies (Coach)- Thistle St. Andrews (Saint John NB)
Leah Deveau, Sarah MacPhee, Jessica Chapman, Carolyn Rose, Carolyn MacPhee (coach)-Montague PE

Junior Men’s Rosters (Skip, Third, Second,  Lead, Coach-Club)

Matthew MacLean, Marshall Smallman, Kevin Gallant, Alan MacLean, coaches Glen MacLean/Shannon Smallman-Maple Leaf (O’Leary PE)
Alex Matters, Chris Gallant, Andrew Cameron, Kyle Holland, Derrick Cameron (coach)- Charlottetown PE
Jon Rennie, Chris MacRae, Andrew Perrin, Tyler Milligan, Paul Brayshaw (coach)- Riverside Curling Club, Rothsay NB
Shawn Pitre, Daniel McCarthy, Jeff Duggan, Colton Griffin, Roger Gavin (coach) Western (Alberton PE)
Tyler Smith, Parker O’Connor, Noah O’Connor, Tyson Smith, Kevin Smith (coach)- Cornwall PE
Jeff Taylor, Alex Sutherland, Alex Jenkins, Jonathan Schut, AJ Campbell (coach)-Cornwall PE
Sam Ramsay, Justin Richard, Eric Pidgeon, Corey Miller, Peter Pidgeon (coach)-Silver Fox (Summerside PE)
Spencer Pitre, Matthew Nabuurs, Connor MacPhee, Sean Noonan-Charlottetown PE

Post last modified: Nov 24, 2009 @ 9:37 pm

Comments are closed.