PEI’s MacFadyen and Berry rinks win Maritime Masters

PEI’s two reigning Masters champs came out the winners at the Maritime Masters Curling Championships, which wrapped up on Sunday at the Cornwall Curling Club, and featured the provincial masters (age 60 and over) winners and runners up from around the Maritimes. The Ted MacFadyen rink from the Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club in Summerside went undefeated with a 5-0 round robin record to win the men’s side. Bill Hope substituted for MacFadyen after the first two draws. Other members of the rink, who won the PEI Masters this year are Lou Nowlan, David Murphy and Alan Montgomery. Murphy was substituting for PEI Masters second Earle Proude in this event. MacFadyen also skipped the PEI Seniors championship team. Men’s runners-up were the Milt Larsen foursome from the Mayflower Curling Club in Halifax, who lost only to MacFadyen in the event, by an 8-6 score. Playing with Larsen were Jim Russell, Fred Lutes, and Ross Woodward.



Ted MacFadyen rink (L-R): Ted MacFadyen, Lou Nowlan, Earle Proude, Alan Montgomery (photo from PEI Masters ch’ship). David Murphy (not shown) substituted for Proude in this event.

The women’s champions are the Shirley Berry rink from the host Cornwall club, who had a 4-1 record. Their one loss came at the hands of the runner-up team, the Judy Burgess rink of Truro, by a 7-6 score, who finished at 3-2 Other members of the Berry foursome are Sandy Hope, Arleen Harris, and Evelyn Rogerson. Rounding out the Burgess squad are Helen Brightman, Karen Hennigar, and Penny Neily. Defending champion Isabel Yeamans and her rink from Fredericton NB’s Capital Winter Club also finished at 3-2, but lost 8-1 to Burgess in their round robin encounter.


Shirley Berry rink (L-R): Shirley Berry, Sandy Hope, Arleen Harris, Evelyn Rogerson (photo from PEI Masters ch’ship)

New Brunswick was only to send one team in both the men’s and women’s divisions this year, as curlers were volunteering at the World Women’s in Saint John, so a third PEI team was added in each division.

The host committee of the Maritime Masters wants to extend a huge thank you  to the many volunteers who helped to make this bonspiel a success. Also, a special thank you goes to Bev McCormick and all the staff of the Cornwall Curling Club. The committee received many positive comments from participants in this Championship.
Post last modified: Mar 17, 2014 @ 8:30 am

Comments are closed.