Judy Burgess team from Truro wins Masters Plus tourney

Judy Burgess and her team from the Truro Curling Club were the winners of the annual Masters Plus Bonspiel, which wrapped up on Friday here at the Cornwall Curling Club, with a full slate of 16 teams, from eight Maritime curling clubs, participating. The Masters Plus format includes three curlers age 60 or over, and one curler age 55 or over. Judy is no stranger to the winners circle at our Club, having finished as runner-up (to our own Shirley Berry) at the Maritime Masters Ch’ship held here in 2014. Two of the same team members – third Helen Brightman, and lead Penny Neily, were back with her this time, along with second stone Carolyn Kavanagh.


File photo, L-R:  Judy Burgess, Helen Brightman, Carolyn Kavanagh, Penny Neily

Women’s rinks captured three of the top four spots, determined via a points system, at this year’s event, with the Des Arsenault team from Summerside being the only men’s team in the winner’s circle. Here are the top four (skip to lead):

Judy Burgess, Helen Brightman, Carolyn Kavanagh, Penny Neily (Truro Curling Club in NS)
Helen Dickie, Sheila Reyno, Sharon McIntyre, Judi McLellan (Sackville Curling Club in NB)
Des Arsenault, Blair Jay, Cliff Poirier, Earl MacLeod (Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Community Complex, Summerside PE)
Shirley Berry, Arleen Harris, Linda Fairhurst, Hanny MacLeod (Cornwall Curling Club)

The prize table included a HUGE array of door prizes, courtesy of the many event sponsors, which included Holland College, Sherwood BMR, Fair Isle Ford, Super 8 Motel, Cornwall Quick Stop, Mr. Plumber, Honibe – Island Abbey Foods, Kenmac Energy, Cornwall Tire and Auto, Garden Isle Computer, Kent Building Supplies, Beaton’s Wholesale Dry Goods Ltd., Capital Honda, Experience  Hyundai, Rhonda’s Country Cuts, Hillside Motors, Reliable Motors, Peter McNeill Automotive, All Star Cresting, Wine Kitz, Centennial Nissan, Mary’s Cornwall Bakery, Ch’town Toyota, Markan Hardwood Plus Inc., Eagles Glenn Golf, Cows Ice Cream, Murphy’s Cornwall Pharmacy, Pharmasave Cornwall, Matos Winery, Water N Wine, Wine Experts, Ideal Tiles & Bathroom, DP Murphy Tim Hortons/Wendy’s, Leary’s  Independent Grocers, Browns Volkswagen, Biovectra Inc., Phytocultures Ltd., and Kays Wholesale. 

The host committee of Edgar Coffin, Ron Giggey, Ken Praught and Paul Arsenault would like to extend a special  thank you to Club manager Bev McCormick, ice maker Lance Lowther, bartender Al MacCormac, cleaner Ray Biagé and scorekeeper Bill Giggey for the work they did to help make this bonspiel successful, and would also like to thank the daytime, stick, and junior curlers who gave up their curling time and lockers, as well as the kitchen volunteers and anyone else who helped in any way. A big thanks also to the teams from across the Maritimes who attended. See you next year for the 5th annual!

Post last modified: Nov 21, 2016 @ 12:33 pm

Comments are closed.