Team Kaitlyn Jones, which includes Cornwall’s Lauren Lenentine to compete in October Grand Slam event in Truro (GSOC)

Reigning world junior champions Team Kaitlyn Jones [which includes recent Cornwall member Lauren Lenentine] will take on the best teams from around the globe at the Canadian Beef Masters in Truro, N.S. [Also in the women’s event is Switzerland’s Team Tirinzoni, coached by PEI’s Peter Gallant].

Karlee and Lindsey Burgess of Team Kaitlyn Jones sweep a stone during the 2018 Humpty’s Champions Cup in Calgary. (Anil Mungal)

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling has released the full list of entries and pools for its second event and first major of the 2018-19 season taking place Oct. 23-28 at Rath Eastlink Arena.

Tickets now available at or by calling 1-888-311-9090.

Teams were invited based on the World Curling Tour’s Order of Merit. The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling reserved the right to invite a sponsor’s exemption for both divisions and implemented this rule for the Canadian Beef Masters awarding spots to Halifax’s Team Jamie Murphy and Team Kaitlyn Jones, featuring Truro’s own Lindsey Burgess at lead.

Both men’s and women’s divisions are split into three pools. Teams play four round-robin games against the teams within their pools. The top eight overall on each side advance to the playoffs.

Team Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L.[which includes PEI’s Brett Gallant], and Winnipeg’s Team Jennifer Jones enter the Canadian Beef Masters as the defending champions. Both clubs went undefeated through the event last season in Lloydminster, Sask.

A $250,000 purse is on the line plus points in the race for the Pinty’s Cup, which is awarded to the season champions. Winners of the Canadian Beef Masters also earn berths to the season-ending Humpty’s Champions Cup running April 23-28 at Saskatoon’s Merlis Belsher Arena.

You don’t want to miss the first major of the new Olympic cycle. Tournament passes, weekend passes and single draw tickets are now available, visit or call 1-888-311-9090 to purchase yours today.

A full match schedule will be announced in the near future. Keep it here for updates.

Can’t make it to Truro? Broadcast coverage of the Canadian Beef Masters begins Oct. 25 at 11:30 a.m. AT on Sportsnet and online at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international). For the full broadcast schedule, CLICK HERE.

Canadian Beef Masters Women’s Division

Pool A Pool B Pool C
Team Hasselborg Team J. Jones Team Homan
Team Sinclair Team Muirhead Team Fleury
Team Walker Team Roth Team Einarson
Team Fujisawa Team Robertson Team Tirinzoni
Team Scheidegger Team Carey Team K. Jones

Canadian Beef Masters Men’s Division

Pool A Pool B Pool C
Team Edin Team Gushue Team Koe
Team Epping Team Gunnlaugson Team Mouat
Team Jacobs Team Carruthers Team Walstad
Team Paterson Team Shuster Team Howard
Team Schwaller Team Dunstone Team Murphy
Post last modified: Oct 1, 2018 @ 12:34 pm

Comments are closed.