Updated: Wed. evening Ladder League Qualifier Night (roster change, and times swapped on Ice 3)

Note: we received a request from the Kamphuis team to move their game to 8:30 (two team members helping with harvest), so the Ferguson vs Joostema game will now go to 6:30, while the Kamphuis vs Nicholson game will go to 8:30. We also have a roster change.

We’re back for another season of the Wednesday evening Ladder League, and are pleased to announce a full roster of 16 teams, which will be divided into two pools of eight. This Wednesday evening, October 24, will be Qualifier Night, where your team will play another team chosen at random, with the winning team going into the A pool and the non-winning team going to the B for Round One, which will be sponsored by Don Lowther Snow Removal and Sam’s Family Restaurant.

Please note that, after consultation with the Club and based on past turnout, there will be NO CURLING on Hallowe’en evening October 31, so the first round following Qualifier Night will start on November 7 and continue for seven weeks up to Dec. 19. We will not be curling on Boxing Day (December 26), so round two will start on Jan. 2 and run through Feb. 13. The final round will start Feb. 20 and runs through April 3rd, just before the closing spiel.

As there are no weeks to spare, please note that any missing nights due to weather or other factors will NOT be played. At the end of the first and second rounds, the three A Pool teams with the fewest points will swap places with the three B Pool teams with the most. There will be prizes (generally gift certificates) for the winning A and B pool teams in each of the three rounds, courtesy of our generous sponsors. See the Rules (below) for more.

Here are the team rosters I have been sent. Note there are a couple of names missing, and there are likely misspellings, too. Feel free to email me any additions or corrections.

1   2   3  
Skip Paul Neima Skip Greg Groves Skip David Younker
Third Alan Mason Third Donald Weeks Third Gary O’Sullivan
Second Jeff Hannam Second Marjorie Matthews Second Larry Nigh
Lead Randy Goodman Lead Ken Monaghan Lead Doug Campbell
4   5   6  
Skip Kim Nicholson Skip Ray Biagé Skip Hank Kamphuis
Third Jean Sinclair Third Rick Doiron Third John Kamphuis
Second Darlene Howlett Second Rebecca Rolfe Second Gerald Dykerman
Lead Dena Farrell Lead Derek MacEwen Lead Pat MacInnis
7   8   9  
Skip Rob Gallant Skip Emily Sanderson Skip Shelley Ebbett
Third Hans Wicki Third Emma Coffin Third Kim Pippy
Second TBA Second Kaylee Stewart Second Paulette Richard
Lead Kellie-Lynn Younker Lead AnnaMaria MacDonald Lead TBA
10   11   12  
Skip Kelly Watts Skip Rachel MacLean Skip Greg Robertson
Third Cathy Handren Third Avery Nicholson Third Laura Arsenault
Second Paula Ling Second Jordan Dunphy-Condon Second Jessica MacPherson
Lead TBA Lead Amy Spence Lead Jeff Arsenault
13   14   15  
Skip Josh McInnis Skip Peter Joostema Skip Mark MacDonald
Third Jesse Kennedy Third Stephen Hickey Third Nelson Dougay
Second Mitch Dunphy Second George Zafiris Second Geoff Boyle
Lead Bob Deziel Lead Bob Wakelin Lead Shawn Patterson
Skip Lauren Ferguson        
Third Katie Shaw        
Second Alexis Burris        
Lead Lexie Murray        


Here we go with the random draw, using Random.org. We will slot the teams by selected random order into the 6:30 draw sheets, then the 8:30. 

List Randomizer

There were 16 items in your list. Here they are in random order:

  1. Neima
  2. Robertson
  3. MacLean
  4. Sanderson
  5. Kamphuis
  6. Nicholson
  7. Younker
  8. McInnis
  9. Groves
  10. Gallant
  11. Watts
  12. MacDonald
  13. Ferguson
  14. Joostema
  15. Ebbett
  16. Biagé

Timestamp: 2018-10-19 12:33:35 UTC


We received a last-minute request from the Kamphuis rink to move their game to 8:30, and we will honour it.

So, the Qualifier Night draw for Oct. 24 looks like this:

6:30 pm
Ice 1: Paul Neima vs Greg Robertson
Ice 2: Rachel MacLean vs Emily Sanderson
Ice 3: Lauren Ferguson vs Peter Joostema
Ice 4: David Younker vs Josh McInnis

8:30 pm
Ice 1: Greg Groves vs Rob Gallant
Ice 2: Kelly Watts vs Mark MacDonald
Ice 3: Hank Kamphuis vs Kim Nicholson
Ice 4: Shelley Ebbett vs Ray Biagé

Rules (credit: some come from the Ottawa Curling Club’s Ladder League)

  • Open (all male, all female, or any combination) semi-competitive league. Any player can play any position, and you can change from game to game.
  • In each round (after qualifier night) you receive 3 game points for a win, 1 game point for a loss, 0 game points for a loss by default. Mark this and your team’s points scored (“score points”) on the scoresheet. In the case of a default, award one score point per end to the winning team. In the case of a tie, award an additional score point for the draw to the button winner. If your score is not marked and you win, you will get one score point more than the losing team. If you lose and your score is not marked, you will receive zero score points.
  • In the event of a default, the non-defaulting team will receive one score point for each scheduled end.
  • To break ties at the end of the round between teams with the same record, the tied teams are ranked by applying the following rules in order until one tie is broken. If a one or more ties remain, the rules are applied to each tie starting from rule 1. The process continues until all ties are broken and all teams are ranked.
    1. The teams are ranked using their head-to-head record against the other teams in the tie.
    2. The teams are ranked using the point differential for their games in the round against the other teams in the tie.
    3. The teams are ranked using the point differential for all the games in the round against all teams
    4. The teams are ranked using their initial ranking in the round
  • Ties: Decided by the skip or other designated player throwing a rock to the button, with sweeping (by your team only) permitted. The closest team will win. If neither team puts a rock in the house, the rocks are thrown again.
  • Avoiding defaults/using spares: At least one regular team member (and three players in total) must be present for the game to count, or else a default is posted.  Spares should not play a higher position than the player replaced.
  • Storms: Any games cancelled due to storms, etc. will NOT be played. 
  • Teams may reschedule games to a different date and /or time by mutual consent. but ice time is often hard to find.
  • The buzzer will be used to ensure the teams are off the ice within the 2-hour time period.  If the buzzer sounds, teams will complete the current end in play to finish  the game. If tied, the standard draw to the button will then take place.

Good curling!

– Derek MacEwen

Wednesday Night Drawmaster




Post last modified: Oct 19, 2018 @ 9:29 pm

Comments are closed.