Cornwall’s Ferguson rink 4-0 at Pepsi Juniors, wins A final, and is in B final this morning vs MacLean


Team Ferguson during the officials’ briefing 

After winning the A final against Rachel MacLean Friday morning, Ferguson then beat the Sydney Howatt team 10-3 Friday evening to go to a 4-0 win-loss record and advance to the junior women’s B final, also against MacLean, at 9 am Saturday. MacLean beat Emily Sanderson 10-4 Saturday evening to advance to the B final. All six junior women’s teams in the event are from the Cornwall Curling Club.

Team Smith sweeping a rock into the house 

Tyler Smith and his team continue to dominate the junior men’s section, having played the other three teams in the event, with all three 10 end games conceded by the seventh end. Smith will be taking on clubmate Chase MacMillan in the junior men’s B final.

The Smith foursome from the host club won the junior men’s “A” qualifier with an 8-1 victory in six ends over the Brayden Snow foursome from the Silver Fox in Summerside, while the Lauren Ferguson squad were tied with their Cornwall clubmates the Rachel MacLean team after seven ends, but a steal of  four in the eighth gave Ferguson the advantage, and she went on to win 7-4.

Full schedule is on the event web page at:

The PEI champions will advance to the 2019 New Holland Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships, to be played Jan. 19-27 in Prince Albert Saskatchewan, co-hosted by the Art Hauser Centre and the Prince Albert Golf and Curling Club.

Post last modified: Dec 29, 2018 @ 7:34 am

Comments are closed.