Lauren Lenentine (U Sports), Tegan Stride (CCAA) make 2nd All Star teams as varsity ch’ships conclude in Fredericton (Curling Canada/U Sports/CCAA)

FREDERICTON, N.B. — The Laurentian Voyageurs won the 2019 U SPORTS women’s curling championship, while the Carleton Ravens captured the men’s title. In the bronze medal games, the Alberta Golden Bears scored a 7-3 win over the Dalhousie Tigers, to finish third on the men’s side, while Dalhousie’s Kaitlyn Jones scored one in the 10thend to beat Queen’s 6-5 for third in the women’s tournament. Dal finished 1st in both the men’s and women’s round robins with 6-1 records.

The Douglas Royals are the 2019 CCAA Curling Canada Women’s Champions following a 7-5 victory over the MacEwan Griffins. In men’s, the Concordia University of Edmonton Thunder’s dominant play led to a 10-4 victory over the Humber Hawks. The Holland College women’s team finished play with a 1-6 win-loss record., 

The first and second all-star teams as determined by shooting percentages during the round robin, and other awards winners at the 2019 U SPORTS and CCAA – Curling Canada Championships were announced on Tuesday night at the closing banquet.

Cornwall’s Lauren Lenentine, third on the Dalhousie women’s team skipped by Kaitlyn Jones, made the “All-Canadian” 2nd team.

Tegan Stride from Holland College is on the CCAA “All-Tournament” 2nd team in the lead position.
Team Holland, with Tegan Stride on the right

U SPORTS All-Canadians

Women 1st Team
Lead: Kristin Clarke – Dalhousie
Second: Karlee Burgess – Dalhousie
Third: Calli Barclay – Queen’s
Skip: Terri Weeks – Brock

U SPORTS All-Canadians
Men 1st  Team
Lead:  Doug Thomson – Brock
Second:  Jeffrey Meagher – Dalhousie
Third: Mackenzie Calwell – Carleton
Skip: Karsten Sturmay – Alberta

U SPORTS All-Canadians
Women 2nd Team
Lead: Jillian Crandall – UNB
Second: Kate Goodhelpsen – Alberta
Third: Lauren Lenentine – Dalhousie
Skip: Kaitlyn Jones – Dalhousie

U SPORTS All-Canadians
Men 2nd Team
Lead: Andrew Berg – Western
Second: Morgan Calwell – Carleton
Third: Chris Kennedy – Alberta
Skip: Cameron Goodkey – Carleton

CCAA All-Tournament
Women 1st Team
Lead: Katelyn Skolski – Augustana
Second: Andie Kurjata – MacEwan
Third: Erin Wells – MacEwan
Skip: Ashton Simard – MacEwan

CCAA All-Tournament
Men 1st  Team
Lead: Benjamin Hughes – Humber
Second:  Brad Lumley – Humber
Third: Jonah Tobinski – NAIT
Skip: Charlie Richard – Fanshawe

CCAA All-Tournament
Women 2nd Team
Lead: Tegan Stride – Holland
Second: Madison Graham – NAIT
Third: Patty Wallingham – Douglas
Skip: Kaitlyn Poirier – Fanshawe

CCAA All-Tournament
Men 2nd Team
Lead: Jared Mason – Lakeland
Second:  Eric Jones – Fanshawe
Third: Jacob Reid – Sault
Skip: Evan Van Amsterdam – Concordia

R.W. Pugh Sportsmanship Award – U SPORTS
Men – Ward Marshall – Lethbridge
Women – Mary Fay – Queen’s

CCAA Sportsmanship Award
Men – Aaron Soulliere – Sault
Women – Paige Droog – Fleming

USPORTS Coaching Award
Men’s – Dennis Bruce – Memorial
Women’s – Scott Davey – Queen’s

CCAA Coaching Award
Men’s – Taina Smiley – Concordia
Women’s – Barry Westman – Fanshawe

Post last modified: Mar 21, 2019 @ 8:30 am

Comments are closed.