Nine teams, including 2 from Cornwall, competing in O’Leary for 2020 PEI Mixed (fours) title starting Feb. 21

The Curl PEI Provincial Mixed (fours) Curling Championship will take place Feb. 21-24 2020 at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary, with nine teams representing five curling clubs taking part.

Click for end by end results

The two-time defending champion Jamie Newson team from the Silver Fox Curling Club, and the Charlottetown Curling Club’s Tyler MacKenzie rink, who were finalists the last two years, are back this year, along with the Alex MacFadyen squad from Charlottetown, the Chase MacMillan and Lauren Ferguson junior teams from Cornwall, the Nick Blanchard foursome from Crapaud, and the George Koke, Philip MacDonald, and Larry Richards teams from Montague.

The nine rinks will play a modified triple knockout draw, with the winners of each section advancing to a two-game championship round. Winners from each section drop down to compete in the next section. If a team wins all three draw sections, they will be declared champions, and the championship round will not be played. A team winning two sections will advance to both championship games and take the championship if they win either game, will their opponent would have to win both sections.

The winning team will advance to the 2021 Canadian Mixed Championship, Nov. 7-15, 2020, at the Canmore Golf and Curling Club in Alberta.

 Photo (L-R): 2019 PEI Mixed Winners Jamie Newson, Melissa Morrow, Andrew MacDougall, Miranda Ellis, along with Larry Richards from the Montague Curling Rink, hosts last year.

Click for previous years’ Mixed websites and winners


(Modified Triple Knockout format with 2 game ch’ship round, if required.)


Date Time Draw Ice 1  Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
Feb. 21 2 pm 1 1 2 3 4
6 pm 2 7   6 5
Feb. 22 10 am 3   10 8 9
2 pm 4 12 11 14 13
6 pm 5 16 18 17 15
Feb. 23 10 am 6 21 19   20
2 pm 7 22   23  
6 pm 8   24    
Feb. 24 2 pm 9     A  
6 pm 10   B    

Explanation for A and B:

1. If one team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. If one team wins two qualifiers. They play in both A and B (and win the event if they win either game), the other section winner plays in A and has to win to advance to B.

3. If there are three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* advances to B and the other winners play off in A. If there is a tie in the number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to B and the other two teams play off in A.

*Qualifying games are in yellow on the schedule.

Team Rosters 

(Click on link for players)

Team Coach Affiliation Location
Team Blanchard Tammy Dewar Crapaud Community Curling Club Crapaud, PEI
Team Ferguson   Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PEI
Team Koke   Montague Curling Club Montague, PEI
Team MacDonald   Montague Curling Club Montague, PEI
Team MacFadyen   Charlottetown Curling Club Charlottetown, PEI
Team MacKenzie Pat Quilty Charlottetown Curling Club Charlottetown, PEI
Team MacMillan David MacFadyen Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PEI
Team Newson   Silver Fox Curling Club Summerside, PEI
Team Richards   Montague Curling Club Montague, PEI
Post last modified: Feb 13, 2020 @ 1:53 pm

Comments are closed.