Cornwall members Team Birt looking for PEI Scotties repeat

The 2021 PEI Scotties Tournament of Hearts Provincial Women’s Curling Championship and the PEI Tankard Provincial Men’s Curling Championship both take place at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary from January 29-31, with two teams entered in each event. Entered in the Scotties are the defending champion Suzanne Birt rink from the Cornwall and Montague curling clubs, along with their Montague clubmates the Darlene London team. The Eddie MacKenzie men’s squad from the Crapaud Community Curling Club, who were the finalist team last year, and the Blair Jay foursome from the Silver Fox Curling Club in Summerside are the men’s Tankard entries. Last year’s winning Bryan Cochrane men’s team is not entered this year.

Defending women’s champions Team Birt (L-R) Suzanne Birt (skip), Kathy O’Rourke (alternate), Meaghan Hughes (2nd), Michelle McQuaid (lead). Missing from photo: Marie Christianson (third), Mitchell O’Shea (coach)

Both events will play best of five draws.



Day/Date Time Draw Sheet 1 Sheet 2 Sheet 3 Sheet 4
Jan 29
4 pm 1   1 A  
Jan 30
11 am 2   B 2  
4 pm 3   3 C  
Jan 31
11 am  4   D* 4*  
4 pm 5   5* E*  

* If Required.

The winning teams will advance to the national Scotties Tournament of Hearts women’s championship in February and the Tim Hortons Brier men’s championship in March, both in Calgary.

Live end-by-end results will be available at


Operated by Curling Canada
Feb. 20-28, 2021
Markin MacPhail Centre, Calgary, AB


Operated by Curling Canada
Mar. 6-14, 2021
Markin MacPhail Centre, Calgary, AB

Here are the rosters:


Team Suzanne Birt

Skip: Suzanne Birt
Third: Marie Christianson
Second: Meaghan Hughes
Lead: Michelle McQuaid
Alternate: Kathy O’Rourke
Coach: Mitchell O’Shea
Club: Montague Curling Club (also Cornwall Curling Club members)

Team: Darlene London

Skip: Darlene London
Third: Robyn MacDonald
Second: Shelly Rice
Lead: Gail Greene
Club: Montague Curling Club


Team Eddie MacKenzie

Skip: Eddie MacKenzie
Third: Tyler Smith
Second: Sean Ledgerwood
Lead: Ryan Lowery
Club: Crapaud Community Curling Club

Team Blair Jay

Skip: Blair Jay
Third: Chuck Jay
Second: Jon Philip
Lead: Glenn Rogers
Club: Silver Fox Curling Club

Click for previous PEI Women’s Championship websites and winners

Click for previous PEI Men’s Championship websites and winners

Post last modified: Jan 19, 2021 @ 10:39 am

Leave a Comment