Cornwall’s Bradley, and defending Men’s champion Gorveatt sweep 2022 PEI Seniors (50+) Ch’ships. Cornwall’s Berry, MacDonald teams are finalists

The PEI Seniors Curling Championships, for curlers in the 50+ age category, came to an early conclusion Saturday afternoon at the Montague Curling Club in Montague / Three Rivers, with defending men’s champ Philip Gorveatt from the host Montague Curling Club, along with the Shelly Bradley women’s foursome from Cornwall, sweeping their respective championship series, going undefeated and winning all three modified triple knockout section finals, making a Sunday championship round unnecessary. Gorveatt won the Saturday afternoon men’s “C” final 8-1 in five ends over Cornwall’s Mark MacDonald rink, while Bradley defeated clubmate Shirley Berry 6-1 in six ends.

Three women’s and an equal number of men’s teams were entered.

Championship Teams

Senior Women’s Champions, Team Bradley, from the Cornwall Curling Club (L-R) – Skip: Shelly Bradley, Third: Susan McInnis, Second: Julie Scales, Lead: Tricia MacGregor. Curl PEI Vice President Ryan Giddens is on the right.

Senior Men’s Champs – Team Gorveatt (L-R): Skip: Philip Gorveatt, Third: Kevin Champion, Second: Sean Ledgerwood, Lead: Mike Dillon, representing the Montague Curling Club. Curl PEI Vice President Ryan Giddens is on the right.

Finalist Rinks

Team Berry women’s finalist rink (L-R) — Skip: Shirley Berry, Third: Tammy Dewar, Second: Sandra Sobey, Lead: Arleen Harris, representing the Cornwall Curling Club. Curl PEI Vice President Ryan Giddens is on the right.

Team MacDonald men’s finalist rink representing the Cornwall Curling Club (2nd from left to right): Lead: Peter Murdoch, Second: Garth Cudmore, Third: Calvin Smith, Skip: Mark MacDonald. Curl PEI Vice President Ryan Giddens is on the left

At last year’s event, the  Gorveatt rink went undefeated to repeat as Senior Men’s champs, winning his 4th Senior Men’s title in five years, while the Kim Dolan team, who were not back this year,  also went undefeated to repeat as Senior Women’s champions. 

The winning Bradley and Gorveatt teams advance to the 2022 Canadian Seniors from Dec. 5-10, 2022, at a location yet to be announced.

Full end-by-end results from the PEI Seniors Curling Championship are available at:!/competitions/7377

Team Rosters

Senior Women’s

Team Bradley
Skip: Shelly Bradley
Third: Susan McInnis
Second: Julie Scales
Lead: Tricia MacGregor
Representing club: Cornwall Curling Club

Team Berry
Skip: Shirley Berry
Third: Tammy Dewar
Second: Sandra Sobey
Lead: Arleen Harris
Representing club: Cornwall Curling Club

Team Harding
Skip: Bev Harding
Third: Sherren MacKinnon
Second: Susan Watts
Lead: Stephanie Perigoe
Representing club: Montague Curling Club

Senior Men’s

Team Gorveatt
Skip: Philip Gorveatt
Third: Kevin Champion
Second: Sean Ledgerwood
Lead: Mike Dillon
Representing club: Montague Curling Club

Team MacDonald
Skip: Mark MacDonald
Third: Calvin Smith
Second: Garth Cudmore
Lead: Peter Murdoch 
Representing club: Cornwall Curling Club

Team Morrison
Fourth: Paul Morrison
Third: Larry Richards
Second: Steven MacLeod
Skip: Donald Clarey (throws 1st stones)
Representing club: Montague Curling Club

Schedule and Draw Trees (Mod. Triple Knockout with 2-game championship round, if needed).

Explanation for MA/WA and MB/WB:

1. If one team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. If one team wins two qualifiers. They play in both MA/WA and MB/WB (and win the event if they win either game), the other winner plays in MA/WB (and has to win both games).

3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in MB/WB and the other winners play off in MA/WB. If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to MB/WB and the other two teams play off in MA/WA

*Qualifying games are 2,4,6 and B,D,F.

Post last modified: Mar 19, 2022 @ 5:44 pm

Comments are closed.