Wednesday Evening Ladder League kicks off tonight (Oct. 26)

Welcome to another season of the Wednesday Evening Ladder League!
We are pleased to report that we have a full draw of 16 teams, 14 returning plus two new teams, skipped by Karen Currie and Norman Boswall.

A couple of housekeeping notes:

1. We are  playing “normally” this year – no COVID restrictions for play.  However there are a few safety measures that will continue:

Players are requested to wipe down the rocks before play. Wipes will be available on the benches.  This process will be exactly the same as last year. 
Masks are welcome but not required.  The Return-to-Play committee and the Board will continue to monitor and track recommendations from Curl PEI and the province.  Fingers crossed for a smooth season!

2. The Rockin’ Raffle is back on this year!  This is our fundraiser to purchase new rocks in a few years.  Players have already bought in to the raffle during registration.  Tickets are available at the bar for pickup.  

3. Players are requested to register and arrange payment in advance of going on the ice, so please get to the Club early if you haven’t already registered/paid.

Here are the team rosters, as best we can get, as some players aren’t yet registered, so we have put in last year’s names where we haven’t heard they aren’t returning. Skips are requested to ensure they have full rosters.

If you are looking for a player(s), we had a request that Gary Milligan and his wife Ellen would like to play in this league. You can email them at to see if they are still available.

Please send any roster updates/corrections to the Drawmaster, Derek MacEwen, at He will also pass them on to the Manager to update the registration system.

TEAMS (skip to lead, alternate). Drag to show entire table on narrow touchscreens:

Team Name Skip Third Second Lead Alt.
Neima Paul Neima Alan Mason Jeff Hannam Randy Goodman  
Gallant Rob Gallant Hans Wicki Derek Gallant Derek MacEwen  
Younker David Younker Kelli-Lynn Younker Chris Hodgson Rebecca Rolfe  
Robertson Laura Arsenault Kim Pippy Jeff Arsenault Greg Robertson  
Callaghan Joe Callaghan Clara Jack Amber Robb Terry MacCormac  
MacDonald Mark MacDonald Nelson Dougay Geoff Boyle  Jonathan MacDonald  
Groves Gregory Groves Donald Weeks Cathy MacDougall Marjorie Matthews  
Legion of Broom / McInnis Josh McInnis Robert Deziel Jesse Kennedy Mitch Dunphy Anthony Riley
HJWZ / /Joostema Peter Joostema Bob Wakelin George Zafiris Steven Hickey  
C.MacKenzie Colin MacKenzie Shauna McGill Sarah Doak Roland Gallant  
Kamphuis Hank Kamphuis Gerald Dykerman Sandra Sobey Pat MacInnis  
T.MacKenzie Tyler MacKenzie Tricia Sanderson Jonathon Adams Kendra Thurston  
Watts Kelly Watts Cathy Handren Krista Affleck Sandra Solomon  
Callin Doug Callin Troy Bertram Steve Miller James Benton  
Currie Karen Currie Angela Sanderson Melissa Creighton Sharon Campbell Jenine Bodner
Boswall Norman Boswall Gordon Matthews Guy Boswall Ricky Milton  

First up is our annual Qualifier Night on Oct. 26, where we select teams at random to play each other, with the winners going in the “A” pool and the non-winners going to the “B” for the first of three seven-week rounds. After Qualifier Night we will use the same draw format and sheet allocation as last season, which means that the two pools of eight teams will alternate between 6:30 and 8:30 draw times. The “B” pool will have the early draw on November 2nd, as the “A” pool had that draw the last week of last season. At the end of each of the 3 rounds round, the top three teams from “B” will move up the ladder to the “A” pool, while the bottom three teams from “A” will go to “B”. 

Here is the Qualifier Night Draw for October 26 (drag to see full table on narrow touchscreens):

  Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
6:30 pm Callin vs
vs Gallant
Neima vs
Watts vs
8:30 pm Younker vs
vs Callaghan
vs McInnis
vs Boswall

Be sure to mark whether you won or lost on the drawsheet that will be posted. Score is not needed for Qualifier night.

League Description: 

The Wednesday evening Ladder League is a semi-competitive team entry league. Teams stay the same all season. Teams retaining at least 3 players from the previous season have priority to enter again this season, while other teams are on a space-available basis. Junior teams with all players age 13 and over, are welcome in this league (but have a lower priority). Teams are divided into an A and a B pool at the start of the season based on whether they win or lose against another team chosen at random on the first night, “Qualifier Night”. At the end of each of three rounds, the bottom three teams in the A pool and the top 3 teams in the B pool switch places, to add some variety for the middle-tier teams while also making the pools more competitive as the top and bottom teams will not play each other. The A and B pools will curl at separate times, alternating between the 6:30 and 8:30 draw times each week. At least three players, at least ONE of whom is on the listed team (not a spare) are required to avoid a game default.  The winners of each pool in each round will receive prizes.


  • Open semi-competitive league. Any player can play any position, and you can change from game to game.
  • We will be using the following Curling Canada draw for Round Robin play. It has good sheet distribution, and we have been using it for many years with no complaints.
  • Following Qualifier Night where we only need to know who won, you will mark “W” for a win, “L” for a loss, or “LD” for a loss by default on the scoresheet, along with your team’s points scored, on the scoresheet on the draw board. In the case of a default, award point per end to the winning team. In the case of a tie, award an additional point for the draw-to-the-button winner. If your score is not marked and you win, you will get one point more than the losing team. If you lose and didn’t mark, you will receive zero points. Note that scores are used only if head to head results cannot definitively break a tie (see below).Sample Scoresheet:
  • To break ties at the end of the round between teams with the same record, the tied teams are ranked by applying the following rules in order until one tie is broken. If a one or more ties remain, the rules are applied to each tie starting from rule 1. The process continues until all ties are broken and all teams are ranked.
    1. The teams are ranked using their head-to-head record against the other teams in the tie. A Loss will beat a Loss by Default.
    2. The teams are then ranked using the point differential for their games in the round against the other teams in the tie.
    3. The teams are then ranked using the point differential for all the games in the round against all teams.
    4. The teams are then ranked using their initial ranking in the round.
  • Ties: Decided by a draw to the button, with sweeping permitted (by your team only – the other team cannot sweep your rock behind the T line or anywhere else).
  • Avoiding defaults/using spares: At least one regular team member (and three players in total) must be present for the game to count, or else a default is posted.  Spares should not play a higher position than the player replaced.
  • Storms: Any games cancelled due to storms, etc. will usually (drawmaster’s decision) not be played, unless it is the last week of the draw. All subsequent weeks will remain where they were, Any changes to this will be posted on
  • Teams may reschedule games to a different date and /or time by mutual consent. but ice time is hard to find!
  • The buzzer will be used to ensure the teams are off the ice within the 2-hour time period.  If the buzzer sounds, teams will complete the current end in play to finish the game. If tied, the standard draw to the button will then take place.

– Derek MacEwen

Wednesday Night Drawmaster


Post last modified: Oct 26, 2022 @ 6:50 am

Comments are closed.