Board members needed!

Like any community organization, the Cornwall Curling Club would not be able to function without volunteers.  

And as we were reminded at the 40th Anniversary Celebration – the volunteer efforts of a great many Board members past and present have made our Club what it is today. 

Current and former Board Members of the Cornwall Curling Club present at the 40th Anniversary Celebration – just a few of the many volunteers over the years!

To continue that strong tradition and pass it down to the next generations, we need to continue to have Club members step up and take a place of leadership on our Board of Directors – serving as the lead volunteers of the Club.

This year we have multiple Board members rotating off the Board and are seeking to find willing volunteers to fill those empty seats.  

The Club bylaws state that: The affairs of the Club shall be conducted by the Board of Directors, composed of twelve (12) Directors elected by voting Members.

Any adult member in good standing is eligible to be elected and each director is elected to a three-year term. 

The Board typically meets once a month on Sunday mornings at present for 2-3 hours, as well as being involved in communication via email and text occasionally.

They help guide and direct the affairs of the Club and give direction to the Club Manager and Ice Technician as needed.  They help deal with any situations or issues that arise and try to look to the future to help the Club continue to be sustainable and a place for social interaction and curling fun.

While many things are discussed/decided in the general meetings, the Board also has several committees, including: 

  • Finance
  • Membership/Draws
  • Publicity
  • Facility
  • Bonspiels/Socials
  • Fundraising/Volunteers
  • Development Director
  • Seniors Committee
  • Nominating Committee
  • Bylaws

Committee assignments are ideally aligned with your interests and strengths as well as filling gaps/needs that exist within the Club and Board.

The Board has a President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer – and the immediate Past President serves on the Board as well. 

If you would like more information about serving on the Board or like to put your name forward please reach out to either current President Shauna McGill, Club Manager Travis Jones, or any current Board member.  

And we would also like to thank our current Board members for serving!

Shauna McGill – President & Bonspiels/Socials 
Debbie Rhodenhizer – Vice-President & Facilities 
Kim Nickerson – Secretary & Bylaws 
Lisa I – Treasurer & Membership/Draws 
Chris MacDougall – Past President & Fundraising 
Nelson Dougay – Fundraising
Sharon Campbell – Bonspiels/Socials
Bill McGuire – Publicity & Development Director
Sue Pollard – Volunteers & Nominations
Bryan Sutherland – Daytime Representative

Post last modified: Apr 4, 2023 @ 3:40 pm

Comments are closed.