Board of Directors for 2023-2024 season confirmed

Kim Nickerson has been elected president of the Cornwall Curling Club for the 2023-2024 season, replacing Shauna McGill, who served in that position the previous two years. Nickerson was elected during a meeting of the board of directors June 5, 2023. This is Nickerson’s second year on the executive and had served as secretary this past season. Kim and her husband Lee are both avid curlers in Cornwall.

“After two years as president, I think my term has come to an end,” McGill said prior to the election of officers. “It’s time for fresh blood and new ideas. I will be there to work closely with the board but I think the president should be someone new.”

McGill’s first term saw major Covid disruptions affect curling although the club saw membership hit a record number approaching more than 420. This past season saw things running smoothly during another very busy season.

The board will have other changes in 2023-2024. Retiring after five years of service is former president Chris MacDougall while Sharon Campbell also stepped down after three years on the board.

Cody Whynot was welcomed as the 9th member on the board after being elected during the club’s annual meeting in May. Debbie Rhodenizer agreed to return for a 4th term as director.

Committee chairs for the new season were discussed and major roles were assigned June 5.

Kim Nickerson — president, human resources;

Shauna McGill — past president, secretary, bonspiels/social, representative on Curl PEI;

Bryan Sutherland — vice president, daytime representative, bylaws;

Lisa Idris — treasurer, bonspiels/social;

Debbie Rhodenizer — facilities, bonspiels/social, representative on Curl PEI;

Nelson Doughy — fundraising;

Cody Whynot — fundraising;

Sue Pollard — volunteers, bonspiels/social;

Bill McGuire — publicity, membership

TBD – development programs

If any members of the Club are interested in volunteering for the Board in a short or long term capacity during the season, please contact Kim Nickerson at

Post last modified: Aug 14, 2023 @ 8:36 am

Leave a Comment