

Cornwall Curling Club Annual General Meeting Minutes May 16, 2023, 6:30 pm

Board of Directors

Lisa Indris	Shauna McGill	Kim Nickerson	Sue Pollard
Bill McGuire	Nelson Dougay	Debbie Rhodenhizer	Cody Whynot
Bryan Sutherland	Chase MacMillan	Alan Stefanik	Mike Rouleau

Club Manager: Travis Jones

BOD Regrets: Shauna McGill & Sue Pollard

16 members were present for the AGM

1. Call to Order

Motion: George Piercey Seconder: Ken Harrott

Passed

2. Review & Approval of Agenda

Motion: Roy Coffin Seconder: Lee Nickerson

Passed

3. President's Report See Committee Reports

- 4. Club Manager Report
 - Travis noted it was a great season.
 - The Club maintained membership over last year.
 - Bonspiels and socials were successful this year and brought in additional revenue to the Club.
 - Travis thanked the Board for its leadership.
- 5. Committee Director Reports See attached Committee Reports
 - a. Bonspiels / Social (Shauna & Sue)
 - b. By Laws (Bryan)
 - c. CurlPEI Representative (Debbie)
 - d. Daytime (Bryan)
 - e. Development Programs (Sarah Doak)
 - f. Facilities (Debbie)
 - g. Fundraising (Nelson & Cody)
 - h. Finance (Lisa)
 - i. HR Committee (Kim)

- j. Memberships & Draws (Lisa)
- k. Publicity (Bill)
- I. Volunteer (Sue)
- 6. Approval of Committee Reports

Motion: Angela Sanderson Seconder: Ken Harrott

Passed

7. Election of New Board of Director Members

Motion: Ken Harrott brought forth the motion that Nelson Dougay, Bill McGuire and Debbie Rhodenizer to be approved for an additional 3-year term as members of the Board of Directors.

Seconded: Roy Coffin

Passed

8. Bylaw - Proposed Changes

See attachment for details of the proposed changes.

Motion: Angela Sanderson brought forward a motion that Article 1.2.3(d) be updated to "While all members are welcome to meetings of the Club, only Adult Club Members have the right to vote."

Seconded: Amy Duncan

Passed

Motion: George Piercey brought forward the motion to approve the proposed bylaw updates, along with the amendment discussed and approved by members at the AGM. Seconded: Jane DiCarlo

Passed

9. New Business

Grand Slam of Curling

- A group of members met on April 29, 2024 to discuss the opportunity to offer our Club as practice facility for the Grand Slam of Curling. Several members have volunteered to seek sponsorship to assist the Club financially as it would require an early opening date with additional cost to the Club.
- The fundraisers will report back to the Board by June 15th with the current status of their fundraising activities and the Board will discuss to determine next steps.

10. Founder's Award

- Congratulations to all nominees for the 2023-2024 Founder's Award; Angela Sanderson, Paul Neima, Gloria Turner, Linda Fairhurst and Myrna Sanderson.
- The Founder's Award Committee reviewed all nominations and granted Myrna Sanderson with the award.

11. Open Discussion

- George Piercey asked if the house decal on ice #1 be changed to ensure that the 8ft and 12ft lines are clearer. Ron indicated he will work on ensuring it is improved next season.
- Amy Duncan recommended the Board review the bylaw amendments to ensure they accurately reflect the Board's discussions before changing the bylaws.

12. Adjournment

Motion: George Piercey Seconder: Ken Harrott

Passed